Massive changes in Pakistan's T20 World Cup 2022 squad

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has announced two changes in the ICC T20 World Cup squad, according to which leg-spinner Usman Qadir has been added to the travelling reserves, whereas left-handed batter Fakhar Zaman has been moved to the 15-player squad.

The two players have swapped places since the board understands it was mandatory to move Qadir to the reserves due to his healing injury. He suffered a thumb fracture during the 4th T20I of Pakistan's recent home T20I series versus England. 

Both Qadir and Zaman will be available for selection after the 22nd of October, which means they will not participate in the warm-up matches against Afghanistan and England. Fakhar will join the squad in Brisbane alongside Shaheen Shah Afridi on Saturday. The two have been in London for the rehab process and will feature in the warm-up games.

The team management will assess Fakhar's fitness level in the warm-up games to decide whether or not he can process as a solid batter in the squad in the main games. 

Pakistan's squad for T20 World Cup 2022:

Babar Azam (captain), Shadab Khan (vice-captain), Asif Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Shah Afridi and Shan Masood.

Travelling reserves: Mohammad Haris, Shahnawaz Dahani and Usman Qadir.

Pakistan's schedule for T20 World Cup 2022:

23 October – vs India, Melbourne

27 October – vs winner Group B, Perth

30 October – vs runner-up Group A, Perth

3 November – vs South Africa, Sydney

6 November – vs Bangladesh, Adelaide

Also, see:

T20 World Cup 2022: BCCI names Jasprit Bumrah's replacement