Players to make choices between IPL and Pakistan tour, reveals NZC

The New Zealand Cricket (NZC) has left it up to their players whether to opt for the sixteenth edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL 2023) or to be part of the New Zealand tour of Pakistan 2023. The Black Caps are scheduled to visit the cricket-loving country twice next year.

At first, they will voyage for two Tests, starting in late December 2022 and ending in early January 2023, followed by a three-match ODI series. Later, in Summer 2023, the Black Caps will once again be in Pakistan for the limited-over series, including five T20Is and as many ODIs. 

While revealing that either a Pakistan tour or IPL depends upon an individual, the CEO of NZC, David White, narrated,

"As of our understanding, our full-strength side will go to Pakistan. I haven't talked to players and their association further in this regard," 

"But, players will be allowed to play in IPL. They will be free to make a choice between IPL and Pakistan tour,"

Since the IPL 2023 is all set to take place in India this time, many New Zealand players, loyal to their franchises, will be willing to play the cash-rich league certainly. The schedule of the T20 league is most likely to collide with the second phase of the New Zealand tour of Pakistan in April.

Notably, IPL 2023 is due to kick-start in late March, extending till late April or May, whereas Pakistan will host the Kane Williamson-led guys between April 13 to May 7 for the second stint. The complete schedule for the New Zealand tour of Pakistan is as follows:

New Zealand tour of Pakistan 2023 | Pak vs NZ Test and ODI series 2023:

27-31 Dec – 1st Test, Karachi (ICC World Test Championship)

4-8 Jan – 2nd Test, Multan (ICC World Test Championship)

11 Jan – 1st ODI, Karachi (ICC Super League)

13 Jan – 2nd ODI, Karachi (ICC Super League)

15 Jan – 3rd ODI, Karachi (ICC Super League)

New Zealand tour of Pakistan 2023 | Pak vs NZ limited-over series 2023:

13 Apr - 1st T20I, Karachi

15 Apr – 2nd T20I, Karachi

16 Apr – 3rd T20I, Karachi

19 Apr – 4th T20I, Karachi

23 Apr – 5th T20I, Lahore

26 Apr – 1st ODI, Lahore

28 Apr – 2nd ODI, Lahore

1 May – 3rd ODI, Rawalpindi

4 May – 4th ODI, Rawalpindi

7 May – 5th ODI, Rawalpindi

Also, see:

When National Stadium Karachi last hosted New Zealand for a Test match?