Babar Azam named Captain of ICC ODI Team of 2022

Pakistan's skipper Babar Azam has retained the top spot in the latest International Cricket Council (ICC) ODI rankings. Babar, with a rating of 887, leads the ODI batter's rankings chart. South Africa's Rassie van der Dussen follows Babar in second position with a rating of 766. Another South African, Quinton De Kock, is in third place, while Australia's David Warner and Pakistan's Imam-ul-Haq are in fourth and fifth place respectively.

India's Shubman Gill, who scored his maiden double hundred and a hundred against New Zealand during the home ODI series that concluded on January 24, was promoted to sixth position. Former Indian skipper Virat Kohli, who managed to score just 55 runs in the series against New Zealand, was demoted to seventh position from sixth. Rohit Sharma, who led India with a century against New Zealand in the third ODI, gained ninth position.

In addition to his top spot in the rankings, Babar Azam was also named captain of the ICC ODI Team of 2022. The right-handed batter had an impressive year, scoring eight scores of more than fifty in 2022. He was also named the captain of the ICC ODI Team of the year in 2021. Under his captaincy, Pakistan won eight out of the nine ODIs they played in 2022.

The ICC ODI team of 2022 includes Babar Azam as captain, Australia's Adam Zampa, West Indies' Shai Hope and Alzarri Joseph, India's Shreyas Iyer and Mohammad Siraj, New Zealand's Tom Latham and Trent Boult, and Bangladesh's Mehidy Hasan Miraz. These players were selected based on their performances throughout the year and their contribution to the success of their respective teams.