New PCB chairman names selection committee for New Zealand tour

The newly-announced chairman of the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), Najam Sethi, has finalized an interim selection committee for the New Zealand tour of Pakistan 2022-23.

His determination came after Ramiz Raja-appointed chief selector Mohammad Wasim was removed from his position soon after Najam Sethi overpowered Imran Khan's chosen PCB chairman.

While naming the selection committee for the New Zealand series, the newly elected PCB chairman named ex-cricketer Shahid Afridi as the chief selector. Afridi is also one of the members of the PCB's management committee, to be led by Sethi. 

The other members named in the selection committee for the New Zealand series will be former cricketer Abdul Razzaq, Rao Iftikhar, and Haroon Rashid, who will convene the meetings. 

Najam, on his Twitter, confirmed that,

"I am pleased to announce, with immediate effect, an Interim Selection Committee for the New Zealand tour. It comprises Shahid Afridi (Chief Selector), Abdul Razzaq and Rao Iftikhar, with Haroon Rashid as Convenor."

The new PCB chairman, while chairing his first-ever meeting, urged that he would name a different test squad for the New Zealand series. However, nothing can be done as of now since it has already been decided and submitted. Now, Najam's elected selection committee will name the team's ODI squad for the New Zealand series, alongside finalizing playing XIs. 

It should be noted that Pakistan will encounter New Zealand for two tests as part of the World Test Championship 2023, followed by a three-match ODI series, with all games part of the ICC Men's World Cup Super League. The first test is all set to be played from December 26th to 30th at National Stadium Karachi.