ICC announces new rules for World Cup 2024

The 2022 edition of the ICC T20 World Cup just ended a few days ago, and the International Cricket Council (ICC), including the participants, now gearing up for T20 World Cup 2024, set to be hosted by UAE and West Indies.

Unlike the World Cup 2022, the 2024 edition will be run following the new set of rules, revealed by ICC on Monday. While announcing new rules on its website, the ICC said,

According to the new rules, the top two teams in each of the four groups of five will move to a Super Eight phase, where the rest of the sides will be divided into two groups of four. The top two in each group will then make their way to the semi-finals.

Concerning the participants, the hosts UAE and West Indies have automatically made it to the event. From there, performances at the 2022 edition and the ICC T20I rankings cut-off on November 14 determined the next ten teams.

Notably, the top eight teams of the World Cup 2022, placed in the top four slots in each Super 12 group, will gain slots for the 2024 tournament. It also includes Afghanistan and Bangladesh, the next best teams on the MRF Tyres ICC Men’s T20I Team Rankings, also securing their spot.

TeamPath of Qualification
West IndiesHosts
AustraliaThe 2022 T20WC top-eight finish
EnglandThe 2022 T20WC top-eight finish
IndiaThe 2022 T20WC top-eight finish
NetherlandsThe 2022 T20WC top-eight finish
New ZealandThe 2022 T20WC top-eight finish
PakistanThe 2022 T20WC top-eight finish
South AfricaThe 2022 T20WC top-eight finish
Sri LankaThe 2022 T20WC top-eight finish
AfghanistanNext best on T20I rankings at Nov 14 cut-off
BangladeshNext best on T20I rankings at Nov 14 cut-off

It is pertinent to mention here that the remaining eight spots for the World cup 2024 will be decided in regional play, with Africa, Asia, and Europe having two qualification spots, with one spot for both the Americas and East-Asia Pacific regions.

Also, see:

What Pakistan Cricket Team is up to for 2023?