BCCI names new President after Ganguly

Roger Binny is now the new President of the Board of Control of Cricket in India (BCCI), replacing Sourav Ganguly. Binny, who was selected for the post of BCCI's President in the Annual General Meeting on Tuesday, is now the 36th chief of the board.

As claimed by Indian reports, Ganguly was forced expelled as a BCCI president upon denying to join a specific political party. The details narrate he declined to join Narendra Modi's Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). He joined BCCI as the President in 2019 and has completed a 3-year tenure.

As far as Binny is concerned, he has represented India in 27 Tests and 72 ODIs. The former Indian cricketer also had been a World Cup winner in 1983. 

Jay Shah, the secretary of BCCI, has retained his position, whereas the treasurer of the board, Arun Dhumal, is now the chairman of the Indian Premier League (IPL). The post was previously held by Brijesh Patel, who became IPL chairman in 2019. Patel is now forced to leave the post. 

Also, see:

BCCI denies visiting Pakistan for Asia Cup 2023