How many cricketers have joined CSA T20 league?

Cricket South Africa (CSA) has announced the T20 league, slated to be held next year in January. With the processes going on to make the league hyped and interesting for top-notched cricketers to participate, the board has already roped in over 25 cricketers to be drafted into various teams.

It has been heard that about ten players from Sri Lanka and West Indies will be in the league. Not only this, but renowned names from England are also to mark their appearances in the newly-launched league. The prominent names include Jason Holder, Alzarri Joseph, Obed McCoy, Dushmantha Chameera, Maheesh Theekshana, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Harry Tector, Liam Livingstone, Jason Roy, Sam Curran, Adil Rashid, Tymal Mills, Jos Buttler, and Eoin Morgan, who has played for two countries.

However, centrally contracted players of Cricket Australia (CA) might not be able to play the inaugural edition of the South Africa-based league until they are free from international circuits. CA has started handing over BBL 12 contracts to players like Steve Smith, Cameron Green, Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, and reportedly David Warner. The mentioned players have no chance for the CSA T20 league.

CSA’s chief executive officer Pholetsi Moseki, as reported by the Times of India, said,

“This new league promises to make a significant investment into both professional cricket and development in South Africa, along with a positive socio-economic and tourism injection into the country,” 

It has been heard CSA will not schedule any international cricket after the New Year to create a window for their newly-launched T20 tournament.

Also, see:

Venue for Asia Cup 2022 revealed