South Africa name second-string test squad for Bangladesh series due to IPL

Cricket South Africa (CSA) has named a second-string team for the upcoming Test series versus Bangladesh. The board had no option but was forced to release its big players including the likes of frontline pacers; Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, Lungi Ngidi, and Marco Jansen.

Following their contract with the Board of Control of Cricket in India (BCCI), the Proteas were forced to name the weakened squad missing majority of the key players. Apart from the mentioned pacers, Aiden Markram and Rassie van der Dussen will also miss the two-match red-ball series to start from 31st March, and the first game to be played at Durban. 

Dean Elgar, South Africa's test skipper earlier called it the 'loyalty test' when it was assumed many players will opt for the Indian Premier League (IPL 2022) rather than the national duties. The extravaganza kick-starts from 26th March, and will clash with SA's home series' red-ball encounters against Bangladesh.

According to IPL's deal with CSA, the board should not schedule any international series during the league's tenure so all SA players are available for it. However, the Bangladesh Test series unluckily matches the IPL window forcing the board to expel its main players from national commitments. 

“The loss of the IPL players is not ideal, but we back the CSA system, its ever-growing pipeline and most of all, the players we have selected,” Convenor of Selectors Victor Mpitsang was quoted by The Times of India.

South Africa Test squad for Bangladesh series

Dean Elgar (C), Temba Bavuma, Daryn Dupavillon, Sarel Erwee, Simon Harmer, Keshav Maharaj, Wiaan Mulder, Duanne Olivier, Keegan Petersen, Ryan Rickelton, Lutho Sipamla, Glenton Stuurman, Kyle Verreynne, Lizaad Williams, Khaya Zondo.

Also, see:

IPL 2022: Gujarati commentary to be introduced for the first time