PCB names Pakistan squad for Women World Cup 2022

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has named a 15-player squad alongside three reserves for the upcoming ICC Women's Cricket World Cup 2022 set to take place in New Zealand in March and April. 

The event will mark the return of Bismah Maroof to international cricket since she made herself available in December 2021. The lady took maternity gap in December 2020 and gave birth to a baby girl in August 2021. 

During her absence, Javeriya Khan was named skipper of the Pakistan Women Cricket Team. Bismah is excited to get back to leadership and playing duties. 

The selection committee, involving Asmavia Khan, who recently took over Urooj Mumtaz's post, named experienced all-rounder, Nida Dar as the vice-captain of the side for the marquee event. 

Kainat Imtiaz and Sadia Iqbal, who were part of the ICC Women Cricket World Cup Qualifier, have unluckily not been named in the crew following their injuries. 

Irum Javed, Tuba Hassan, and Najiha Alvi are placed in the travelling reserves. The 15-player squad includes the names of:

Pakistan squad: Bismah Maroof (captain), Nida Dar (vice-captain), Aiman Anwar, Aliya Riaz, Anam Amin, Diana Baig, Fatima Sana, Ghulam Fatima, Javeria Khan, Muneeba Ali, Nahida Khan, Nashra Sandhu, Omaima Sohail, Sidra Amin and Sidra Nawaz

The Pakistan squad will begin the final phase of their preparations with a 10-day pre-departure camp in Karachi from 27 January. They will depart for NZ on 8 February.

Also, see:

Usman Qadir to launch 'surprise delivery' in PSL 7