PSL 2022: Retained players list for six teams

The six franchises of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) have revealed their retained players list for PSL 2022 as the countdown for the extravaganza is already underway. As the HBL PSL 7 draft is set to take place on 12th December, the teams, following the sequence of picks, will finalize their squads for the season. 

The first game of the PSL 2022 will be played between the title defenders Multan Sultans and Karachi Kings at the National Stadium on 27th January, whereas, the final is set to be played on 27th February. 

HBL PSL 7: Players released by franchises

Notably, seeing the franchises releasing their potent players is surprising to lookouts. Islamabad United have traded Iftikhar Ahmed with Quetta Gladiator's Azam Khan and Hussain Talat has been traded from the team to Peshawar Zalmi. In return, Zalmi has given a second-round pick of silver to United. Whereas, Kamran Akmal and Imam ul Haq are no more part of the Peshawar Zalmi. Also, Colin Munro is no more United's part.

Sohail Tanvir, Usman Qadir, Sohail Khan, and Carlos Brathwaite have been released by Multan Sultan whereas, Gladiators have released Ben Cutting, Zahid Mahmood, Chris Gayle, Tom Banton.

Fakhar Zaman, Ben Dunk, and Samit Patel have been released by Lahore Qalandars. Moreover, Colin Ingram and Chadwick Walton will no more play for Karachi Kings.

Have a look at the full retained players list for all franchises for PSL 2022:

Islamabad United (8) – Asif Ali, Hasan Ali (both Platinum), Faheem Ashraf (Diamond), Shadab Khan (Diamond, Brand Ambassador), Alex Hales (Gold, Mentor), Azam Khan, Mohammad Wasim Jnr (both Gold), and Paul Stirling (Silver)

Karachi Kings (8) – Babar Azam, Imad Wasim (both Platinum), Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Nabi (both Diamond), Joe Clarke (Gold, Brand Ambassador), Aamir Yamin, Sharjeel Khan (both Gold), and Mohammad Ilyas (Silver)

Lahore Qalandars (8) – Rashid Khan, Shaheen Shah Afridi (both Platinum), Haris Rauf (Diamond, Brand Ambassador), David Wiese, Mohammad Hafeez (both Diamond), Ahmed Daniyal, Sohail Akhtar, and Zeeshan Ashraf (all Silver)

Multan Sultans (7) – Mohammad Rizwan, Rilee Rossouw (both Platinum), Imran Tahir (Diamond, Mentor), Sohaib Maqsood (Diamond), Khushdil Shah (Gold, Brand Ambassador), Shahnawaz Dahani, and Shan Masood (both Gold)

Peshawar Zalmi (8) – Liam Livingstone, Wahab Riaz (both Platinum), Haider Ali, Sherfane Rutherford, Shoaib Malik (all Diamond), Hussain Talat (Gold), Saqib Mahmood (Gold, Brand Ambassador), and Tom Kohler-Cadmore (Silver)

Quetta Gladiators (7) – James Vince, Sarfaraz Ahmed (both Platinum), Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Nawaz (both Diamond), Shahid Afridi (Gold, Mentor), Mohammad Hasnain (Gold, Brand Ambassador), and Naseem Shah (Gold)

Also, see:

Kamran Akmal, Imam ul Haq not retained by Zalmi