Ashes squads 2021-22 first Test: Australia and England players

 The Ashes Test series 2021-22 is set to progress from 8th December, Wednesday as the first match will be played at Gabba, Brisbane. Cricket Australia (CA) earlier selected the playing XI for the first Test from the named squad, however, England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) denied revealing the team's details and named a 12-player crew a day before the series starts.

The return of Ben Stokes has delighted the English fans, however, Tim Paine's ruling himself out is somewhat saddening for the Aussies. Also, James Anderson has been sidelined by the three Tigers to prepare him for the Adelaide Test as the board injury 'no injury' ahead of the related rumors. Chris Woakes is all set to replace him for the first Test.

Moreover, there are doubts if Stuart Broad will take charge of his duties as any from Jack Leach of Broad will be dropped out on Wednesday. The two captains, Joe Root and Pat Cummins are set to rival the series. 

Ashes 2021-22: Playing XIs for Australia and England for the first Test

England: Joe Root (c), Stuart Broad, Rory Burns, Jos Buttler (wk), Haseeb Hameed, Jack Leach, Dawid Malan, Ollie Pope, Ollie Robinson, Ben Stokes, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood

Australia: Marcus Harris, David Warner, Marnus Labuschagne, Steve Smith, Travis Head, Cameron Green, Alex Carey (wk), Pat Cummins (c), Mitch Starc, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood.


Also, see:

Is Virat Kohli's ODI captaincy in danger?