Australia Cricket Board Announced Venues For T20 World Cup 2022

As the T20 World Cup 2021 results concluded the preparations for the T20 World Cup 2022 has been started. ICC announced that the next T20 World Cup 2022 will be hosted in Australia. The 2021 Champions will host the next T20 World Cup.

A forty five match tournament will be contested across seven different venues which includes Adelaide, Brisbane, Geelong, Hobart, Melbourne, Perth and Sydney, with the final under lights at the Melbourne Cricket Ground. The Semi Finals of the T20 World Cup 2022 will be hosted in Sydney and Adelaide.

Chris Tetley, head of events of the International Cricket Council (ICC) said, “Following the success of the ICC Women's T20 World Cup in 2020 [in Australia] and a two-year postponement, our sights are now firmly set on planning for the 2022 event.”

Australia after beating New Zealand by eight wickets in Dubai on November 14,2021, as both of this year's finalists automatically qualified for the Super 12 stage for the T20 World Cup 2022. Afghanistan, Bangladesh, England, India, Pakistan and South Africa who are the eight highest-ranked teams have also qualified for the Super 12 Stage of T20 World Cup 2022.

Sri Lanka and West Indies however will have to play the qualifying round along with Namibia, Scotland and four other countries that will be decided in two qualifying tournaments that will be played in Oman and Zimbabwe respectively. The first tournament is to be played in Oman in February and the second tournament is to be played in June-July 2022.