Aus vs NZ Final: Australia win maiden T20 World Cup trophy

The ICC T20 World Cup 2021 has been tricky, with two-faced pitches, registering the lowest scoring games of any T20 World Cup edition. However, the final showdown witnessed the fastest T20 WC Final fifty by Kane Williamson but got broken in no time, after the winning side's Mitchell Marsh took over the record.

On the one hand, where Williamson, after hitting a 32-ball 50, went for 85 off 48 balls, the other batters of the team counted 78 off 73 among them. Australia's Mitchell Marsh, who reached the feat of smashing T20 World Cup's final all-time fastest 50 in 31 deliveries, ended up with 77 off 50 whereas, the other Aussie batters added 86 off 63 on the board - this includes a super-duper fifty from David Warner who has been the settled opener for the team throughout the contest. It also adds a cameo shot from Glenn Maxwell who went for a four to wind up the game by eight wickets, sparing seven balls.

Although Australia were not among the favorites to lift this year's T20 World Cup trophy but pasted themselves after being slow-starters. Winning four out of five Super 12 games of Group 1, they became one of the semifinalists alongside England. 

Discussing the final, Australia won the toss and opted to chase. They yielded a decent total of 172 as Mitchell Starc turned out to be overly expensive with a spell of 4-0-6-0. Glenn Maxwell had no delights with the ball either but the rest of the line-up controlled pretty well.

While marching on the field to defend, they put the optimism in action as Warner-Marsh hit half-centuries to bring it up. 

Australia last won an ICC title back in 2015. They were not unknown to the glory of the World Cup, winning the 50-over titles five times but were yet to make it in the 20-over format. Although they reached the final in 2010 but lost to England. Finch made sure not to let go of things this time.

This is a night that must pass for the heavy hearts, New Zealand, who gave their 101% win to reach here, not to end up as the runner-ups.

Also, see: 

Pak vs Eng T20I series extended from 5 to 7-match T20I series